## Independence and Union with the Trust Territory of Somaliland

The wind of change was blowing over Africa and whether they liked or not the Isaq clan would eventually have been tamed to follow the fate of the whole Somali people.

That was succinctly expressed by Sh. Hassan Tani Gabobe, one of the vanguard activities of the SYL movement in Jigjiga:

Saca faarso nacay, sanduluu ku iman Saddex maalintuu qado, saa waxaa ka dhigan Safka maanta yidhi saada nahee Soomaali aan diidno

The prediction of Sh. Hassan Tani became obvious when in a later date, The Isaq formed the Somali National League (SNL), not in the faith of a national cause but more with the intention of avoiding to be left alone.

But to counter balance what could have been the only positive step they had ever taken, they created the NUF which called for the continuation of the British rule in the Somaliland.

The Isaq played a double game. If the nationalist parties won they have their voice through the SNL; but they out their weight behind the NUF which they saw as their savior from the nationalist nightmare.

When the Northern part of Somalia won the independence on June 26, 1960, the United Somali Party (USP) which had the Gadabursi, the Dhulbahante and Warsangeli clans behind it called for immediate reunion with the South which was under Italian Rule.

Again it was the Isaq leaders of the SNL who with the instructions from the British government severely fought the idea of unification. And against their will and with the relentless struggle of the USP, the two Somali parts united to form a single state of Somali Republic on 1<sup>st</sup> July 1960.

In May 1960, the British Government stated that it would be prepared to grant independence to the Somaliland protectorate. The Legislative Council of British Somaliland passed a resolution in April 1960 requesting independence. They send four selected leaders to go to London and they were Hagi Ibrahim Nur (Gadabursi), Ali Garad Jama (Dhulbahante), Mohamed Hagi Ibrahim Egal and Ahmed Keyse (Isaq). In accordance with the Gadabursi Treaty signed on December 11, 1884 the requesting Independence was given to Hagi Ibrahim Nur, since that treaty was signed by Elmi Warfa (Ugaz's son) of the Gadabursi clan. The legislative councils of the territory agreed to this proposal.

In April 1960, leaders of the two territories met in Mogadishu and agreed to form a unitary state. An elected president was to be head of state. Full executive powers would be held by a prime minister answerable to an elected National Assembly of 123 members representing the two territories.

On 26 June 1960, the British Somaliland protectorate gained independence as the <u>State of Somaliland</u> before uniting five days later with the Trust Territory of Somalia to form the <u>Somali Republic</u> (Somalia) on 1 July 1960.<sup>[2][3]</sup>

After the state of Somaliland united with the Trust Territory of Somalia to establish the Somali Republic. on July 1, 1960. The legislature appointed the speaker Hagi Bashir Ismail Yousuf as First President of the Somali National Assembly. The same day Aden Abdullah Osman Daar becomes President of the Somali Republic.

The Unity of Somalia is one which is based on people having one faith, one culture, one language and one national integrity. And no single clan however powerful they assume themselves to be will ever be able to nudge let alone move the mountain of Somali nationalism.